Glenn Stallcop       Composer, Performer


Brass Quintet (1979)

for 2 trumpets, horn, trombone and tuba

3 Mvts., 17 Mins.

Brass Quintet is available here  from American Composers Alliance


Program Notes with Score Video

The Brass Quintet (1979) was written for the Southwest Brass Quintet.  The ensemble was comprised of members of the Phoenix Symphony, and the work was first performed at Arizona State University in December of 1979. 

The work is the second in which I used transcribed keyboard improvisations as the basis for the composition.  The work uses a free-wheeling motivic technique based around a rather blues and jazz derived style.  

At the time, the brass quintet, as an ensemble, had not yet developed the light-hearted pops-oriented reputation brought on by such groups as the Canadian Brass, etc.  As such, I treated the instrumentation and music as I would any other piece of chamber music.  Though the style is based on some more popular elements, the music is more complex and intricate than one might expect.  More often than not the texture is contrapuntal and the work abounds in cross rhythms and syncopation. The work was written for professional level performers and is a sparkling show piece.


Score Video 

The first movement is a predominantly lyrical allegro movement that gradually builds into a driving climax. 



The second movement is a moderate tempo lyrical waltz. 



The last movement is a boisterous jig full of drive and good humor.