Glenn Stallcop       Composer, Performer


Concert Dances Set No. 1 (1977)

for Solo Piano

3 Mvts., 22 Mins.

Concert Dances Set No. 1 is available here  from American Composers Alliance.

Program Notes

In 1977, I started an improvisatory ensemble. It was modeled after some of the then-current jazz ensembles, except it did not have a drummer. Our “solo” sections turned into group free improvisation segments, piquing my interest in free improvisation, a trait which has continued ever since. For the ensemble, I wrote several tunes. During the summer, I used these tunes to create several piano pieces.